Mr Wong Kit-loong

Mr Wong Kit-loong

Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of the Hong Kong Housing Society
Member of the Elderly Commission

Let the elderly maintain ties with society

In my daily life and work, interactions with the elderly give me a lot of insights. If we are willing to listen, we can learn much and get lots of inspirations from their words of wisdom. To them, “No pains, no gains” is not just a motto, but a belief which they truly practised in their life. This encourages me not to fear difficulties, and be brave to face the ups and downs in life.

Though the ageing population is a challenge to our society, many elderly people are still young at heart indeed. They can contribute to society in many ways, especially in passing on their wisdom and experiences. Our society needs their continued involvements and contributions too. This not only enables the elderly to maintain their ties with society and contribute to the community, but also brings an enriched life to them.

To maintain a relationship with the elderly is easy. Just make a call to see how they are getting on, or paying them a visit is heartwarming enough. I think showing loving care and understanding is most important when we get along with someone. If time allows, it is even better if we can care for the other elders in need. Like visiting the singleton elders as a volunteer, offering soup to the elders living nearby, or supporting the elderly-friendly facilities, all can make our community warmer and more harmonious.

Please click here to view newsletter issue 27 for more sharing.

Close the window

黄杰龙先生

黄杰龙先生

香港房屋协会行政总裁兼执行总干事、安老事务委员会委员

让长者与社会脉搏相连

在我日常的生活及工作上,与「老友记」的相处都令我获益良多。只要我们愿意聆听,就会得著不少智慧及生活的启发。他们「吃得苦中苦,方为人上人」的信念及实践,鼓励著我无惧困难,面对人生起跌。

面对人口老化,可以说是社会的挑战,但是正所谓「人老心不老」,长者实在有很多可以贡献社会的地方,特别是他们的智慧和经验的承传。社会也很需要他们继续投入及付出,这不单可以让长者继续与社会的脉搏相连,为社区及邻舍出一分力,也为他们带来更丰盛的人生。

与长者维系关系可以很简单,只要打一个电话,表达一声问候;或是关心的探望都可以令长者感受到温暖。我认为大家相处,彼此关怀体恤尤为重要。如果时间许可,能够帮助其他有需要的长者就更好,例如做义工去探访独居长者、平日对邻舍长者送上汤水,或是对长者友善设施表示支持,也会使我们的社区更温馨和谐。

欢迎按此浏览第二十七期基金双季刊,浏览其他嘉宾对人情味的体会。

关闭此页