Skip to main content
Community Investment and Inclusion Fund Brand Hong Kong - Asia world city

Welcome Message

Social Capital Silently Enriches our Society

First appointed as a member of the Community Investment and Inclusion Fund (CIIF) Committee in 2005, then the Vice-chairman of the CIIF Committee and Chairman of the Promotion and Development Sub-Committee in 2017, and now the Chairman of the CIIF Committee in 2019, I am deeply honoured to have this valuable opportunity to work with the enthusiastic and capable members of the Committee and the SC.Net to promote the development of social capital in Hong Kong.

I am most pleased to always have the opportunity to experience the caring spirit cultivated through the mutual support networks developed by social capital projects. This caring spirit is my source of happiness, giving me positive energy to continuously contribute to our society.

Solely counted on the income earned by my father who worked as a security guard, our family of seven lived a simple life in a public rental housing estate. Though living in a small flat with limited space and resources, we enjoyed and treasured much of the simple but happy life with care and support from our neighbours.

Participating in the CIIF Committee gave me the opportunity to visit many CIIF-funded projects and enjoy the caring spirit around every corner of the community through direct communication with different project teams and the participants. During my recent visit to a project in support of caregivers, I noticed the change in the caregivers, including those hidden ones, in relieving their stress and becoming volunteers themselves through care and support from fellow caregiver participants of the project. That is the potential power of social capital. I have also visited a funded project that helped residents of the new housing estates settle and integrate into the community with the support of corporate partners. I have seen the companies make good use of their unique resources and the expertise of corporate volunteers to inspect buildings, lay flooring materials and do simple furnishings for families in need. It can alleviate the pressure on residents and even facilitate their smooth adaptation to the new environment. The project participants, volunteers and collaborators all contribute their strengths and expertise to the formation of support networks, silently enriching our society with the caring spirit. The impact of social capital is visually demonstrated.

Looking forward, the CIIF will continue to actively support district-based social capital projects and will step up efforts to mobilise more young people to participate in social capital development. Over the past few years, students and young people have been encouraged to learn and participate in social capital development through the picture book produced for students in kindergartens and primary schools as well as the drama competition, microfilm creation and other related activities organised for students in secondary schools and tertiary institutions. It is hoped that young people’s creative mindsets will help energise the social capital development. Many talented people from different sectors have been appointed to the current term of the CIIF Committee, among whom are two young members selected through the “Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth”. I look forward to working hand in hand with you to mobilise different sectors, in particular the education and business sectors, to make good use of our networks and resources to build a society rich in social capital, bringing warmth to Hong Kong and enabling the caring spirit to be passed on from generation to generation.

I would also like to express my sincere gratitude to Dr. LAM Ching-choi, the third Chairman of the CIIF Committee, for his capable leadership and the outgoing members for their devotion to the CIIF. Their active involvement and contributions have set an outstanding example for me and the current members of the Committee. We will make our best efforts to further the building of social capital in Hong Kong.

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Valid HTML 4.01 Strict Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme

跳至内容
社区投资共享基金 香港品牌形象- 亚洲国际都会


欢迎辞

润物细无声 社会资本盛

由2005年获委任为社区投资共享基金(基金)委员会委员,到2017年成为委员会副主席兼推广及发展小组委员会主席,再到2019年获委任为委员会主席,有此难得机会与一班有心有力的委员及社会资本挚友一起推动香港的社会资本发展,我实在深感荣幸。

我最感欣喜的是常有机会亲身体会到由社会资本建构的网络所产生的人情味,这份浓浓的人情味正是我的快乐泉源,给我正能量,以持续为社会出力。

我在公共屋邨长大,一家七口靠父亲做保安员的收入维持生计,虽然家里没有太多空间,物质也匮乏,但当年街坊邻里那种互相照应、你帮我我帮你的生活情怀,总是令人怀念。

参与基金委员会的工作,让我有机会探访许多基金资助的项目;与不同的计划团队和参加者交流,让我感受到人情味处处。就以我近期探访的一个社区照顾者支援项目为例,看到照顾者心中日积月累的抑压,因同路人的关怀及支援而得以疏导,部分照顾者更从隐蔽者转化成为义工,这就是邻里守望、相互扶持的能量,也就是社会资本的潜力。我也曾到访一个协助新屋邨居民融入社区的支援项目,看到企业善用他们独有的资源及企业义工的专长,为有需要的家庭验楼、铺地板及简单布置家居等,这不单能减轻居民的压力,亦可协助他们顺利适应新环境。计划参加者、义工及协作伙伴每天在各大小社区默默地贡献所长、编织网络,为香港社会带来温暖,这便是我心中的润物细无声。这些成果就是看得见的社会资本。

展望将来,基金除会继续积极支持地区的社会资本建设项目外,亦会加强力度推动年青人参与社会资本的发展。过去数年,基金透过为幼稚园及初小学生制作绘本、为中学和大专院校学生举办话剧比赛、微电影创作及其他相关活动,鼓励学生和青少年尽早认识社会资本,以及透过活动参与建设。我们期望年青人的创意及灵活思维,能为社会资本注入更多动力。今届委员会增添了许多来自不同界别的贤能之士,当中包括两位经「青年委员自荐计划」获挑选的青年委员。我期盼能与大家携手合作,动员不同的界别,特别是教育界和商界的参与,善用大家的网络和资源,为社会建立更丰富的社会资本,令暖意注满香港、让人情味代代相传。

我亦在此衷心感谢基金委员会的第三任主席林正财医生及各卸任委员,他们的积极参与和贡献为我及现任委员树立了出色的榜样,我们定会加倍努力,令香港的社会资本继续茁壮成长。



Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Valid HTML 4.01 Strict 无障碍网页嘉许计划金奖