Skip to main content
Community Investment and Inclusion Fund Brand Hong Kong - Asia world city

Key Milestone


Community Investment and Inclusion Fund

In the 2001 Policy Address, the Chief Executive announced the setting up of the Community Investment and Inclusion Fund (CIIF). Thanks to the support of project teams and collaborators from various sectors of the community, CIIF has reaped great returns for its strenuous efforts in terms of countless candid smiles, neighbourhood friendship as well as unconditional love and care through mutual help, which cannot be measured in pecuniary terms. There is no doubt that mutual trust and help among people is a very important social capital, which is a key driver for the development of a modern society. It is exactly this human touch that enables us to tide over every hurdle and build up the city’s soft power of social capital.

Social Capital – Resilience and Sustainable Reciprocity

CIIF has actively responded to various social challenges in Hong Kong since its establishment, taking the long-term social benefits into consideration. CIIF’s achievements in social capital building have been widely recognised over the community:

Differences that We Made

CIIF has "created ever more differences" with the concerted efforts made by its project teams and collaborators. It successfully established different social capital development models. Some are also developed in response to the inter-generational poverty and provide alternative solutions:

  • "Community-Welfare-Housing" collaboration establishes a safe and friendly community
    Through close collaboration among social welfare organisations, the Hong Kong Housing Society/the Hong Kong Housing Authority and mutual aid committees, local residents are trained up to serve as house captains to take care of needy residents in the neighbourhood with a view to building a safe and friendly community.
  • "Community-School-Family" collaboration constructs a family-supportive network bolstered by the community
    Primary and secondary schools within the community open up their campuses, offering services and school facilities to families in need as well as prompting community members and families to participate in community affairs, thereby empowering the communities to support families.
  • "Community-Welfare-Medical collaboration" builds the elderly/patient care network
    Community clinics are created by a joint collaboration among social welfare organisations, the medical and health sector and local groups, disseminating healthcare information to the community. This contributes to the formation of a mutual help network for the wellness of residents in respect of their body, heart and mind, effectively relieving the pressure on caregivers and those being cared.
  • "Community-Residents-Business-Government" collaboration builds a cross-generational relationship
    Social welfare organisations enlist partners from various sectors to bridge the gap between the young and the old, and promote reciprocity and mutual trust between the two generations, thereby building a cross-generational mutual help network through, for instance, forming cross-generational service (such as cleaning, maintenance and after school care) teams, cross-generational neighbourhood visitation teams, etc.
  • "Community-Business-Government" collaboration fosters social integration
    Through co-operation among social welfare organisations, the business sector and government departments, communication and collaboration platforms are built for ethnic minorities and new arrivals. This bolsters their participation in community affairs and increases opportunities for role transformation, such as becoming cultural exchange tour guides, enabling them to contribute to the creation of a harmonious and inclusive community.
  • "Residents-Business-School-Government" collaboration builds a youth employment and life navigation network
    Through close collaboration among the business sector, the academic sector and government departments, a platform is built to provide the youth with internships and employment opportunities by the business sector. Most importantly, cross-sectoral volunteers are mobilised to serve as life mentors to help youngsters rise to various challenges ahead.


  • 2018

    In the 2018 Policy Address, the Chief Executive announced that the Government would, through the CIIF, fund community network building projects, with the aim to regularise the support service for the new estate community to facilitate the integration of new residents and families into the community as soon as possible.

    See 2017
  • 2017

    The Government injected an additional $300 million into the CIIF.

    See 2016
  • 2016

    With the rapid ageing of our population, there is growing concern about the possible challenges faced by the elderly. The CIIF launched two successive batches of funding applications related to the elderly, encouraging the community to strengthen the elderly support networks.

    See 2015
  • 2015

    In the 2015 Policy Address, the Chief Executive announced that the CIIF would plan to deploy resources in the next few years to build mutual help networks among residents of new public rental housing estates. In the same year, the CIIF launched a batch of funding applications on the theme of “New Communities New Networks”.

    See 2013
  • 2013

    The Government injected an additional $200 million into the CIIF.

    See 2012
  • 2012

    The City University of Hong Kong and the Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) were commissioned to conduct an evaluation study of the CIIF. The study affirmed the CIIF’s effectiveness in promoting social capital development in Hong Kong. In particular, the report submitted by the PolyU indicated that the CIIF’s projects were successful in fostering mutual trust and acceptance among residents from different backgrounds, as well as in building neighbourhood support networks, etc.

    See 2011
  • 2011

    The CIIF presented a special fund application theme on "Building Safe and Friendly Community Networks", under which communities were encouraged to adopt the strategy of "House Captain" with a view to training up residents to serve as house captains for promoting mutual help in the neighbourhood.

    See 2009
  • 2009

    Under the impact of the financial tsunami, self-resilience and mutual help were adopted as the themes of two successive batches of CIIF applications, under which all sectors were encouraged to participate in the community to foster the spirit of mutual help and mutual benefits.

    See 2008
  • 2008

    In 2008, serious domestic tragedies in Tin Shui Wai prompted the CIIF to fund 13 social capital development projects, reaching the highest number of projects approved for one single district over the years.

    See 2006
  • 2006

    An Evaluation Consortium, formed by research teams led by scholars from five tertiary institutions, conducted a comprehensive assessment of more than 50 CIIF-funded projects. The findings affirmed effectiveness of the funded projects in enhancing personal capacity, promoting community networks and fostering cross-sectoral collaboration.

    See 2003
  • 2003

    The outbreak of the Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) epidemic caused widespread panic. The first batch of CIIF-funded projects was launched to promote the spirit of social capital such as solidarity in the community and mutual support in the neighbourhood.

    See 2001
  • 2001

    The Government announced an allocation of $300 million to establish the CIIF in 2002.

    Back to CIIF Now
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Valid HTML 4.01 Strict Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme

跳至内容
社区投资共享基金 香港品牌形象- 亚洲国际都会


基金里程碑及发展


社区投资共享基金

行政长官于2001年在施政报告中宣布成立社区投资共享基金(基金),成立至今,集基金、计划团队及来自社会各界协作伙伴之力量,通过在社区的投资,得到的回报是无法用金钱衡量,当中包括数不尽的真挚笑容、邻舍间建立的一份情谊、彼此不计较付出的相互关怀等。人与人之间的互信互助是非常重要的社会资本,是推动现代社会发展的重要元素。正是这份人与人之间的人情味,让我们有能力跨越每一个难关,体现一个城市由社会资本力量承托下所建立的软实力。

寻出不穷、逆境互强的社会资本力量

过去,香港面对种种的社会挑战,基金一直以积极的态度及以达致长远社会效益的考虑下作出回应,所建立的社会资本成果获各方肯定:

见证非比寻常的人情味效益

各计划团队及协作伙伴与基金共同携手,建立“非比寻常”的社会资本效益,并成功确立多个社会资本发展模式,个别模式为回应跨代贫穷提供另类的解决方案:

  • “社、福、房”协作 建设安善社区
    由社福机构、香港房屋协会/房屋委员会及互助委员会紧密合作,训练地区居民成为楼长,关心邻舍需要,创造安全及友善的社区。
  • “社、校、家”协作 由社区支援家庭
    由区内的中、小学开放校园,为有需要家庭提供服务和学校设施,并带动社区人士及家庭投入参与社区事务,强化社区支援家庭的功能。
  • “社、福、医”协作 建立长者 / 病患者关顾网络
    由社福机构、医护界和地区团体携手合作设立社区诊所,将健康关顾讯息带进社区,建立居民“身、心、灵”健康的互助网络,减低照顾者与被照顾者的压力。
  • “社、民、商、官”协作 长幼共建跨代情
    由社福机构联系不同界别的伙伴,加深长幼彼此的认识,发展两代的互惠互信关系,从而建立跨代的互助网络。例如:跨代服务队(如清洁、维修及课托)、跨代邻里探访队等。
  • “社、商、官”协作 促进社会共融
    透过社福机构、商界及政府部门合作,为少数族裔、新来港人士建立交流及协作的平台,加强他们参与社区事务,增加角色转化的机会,如担当文化交流团导赏员,缔造和谐共融的社区。
  • “民、商、校、官”协作 建立青少年成长引路导航
    连系商界、学术界、政府部门建立平台,由商界提供工作体验及就业机会,并由来自不同行业的义工担任青少年的生命导师,协助青少年面对成长中的各种挑战。


  • 2018

    行政长官于《2018年施政报告》公布,会透过基金资助建立社区支援网络项目,使新屋邨的社区支援计划常规化,以协助新入伙的居民及家庭尽快融入社区。

    浏览 2017
  • 2017

    政府向基金额外注资三亿元。

    浏览 2016
  • 2016

    随着本港人口急速高龄化,社会愈来愈重视长者可能面对的挑战。基金连续两期推出与长者有关的拨款申请主题,鼓励社区强化长者的支援网络。

    浏览 2015
  • 2015

    行政长官于《2015年施政报告》公布,基金计划在未来数年投入资源,协助新入伙公共屋邨居民建立互助网络。基金同年即以“新社区、新网络”为拨款申请主题。

    浏览 2013
  • 2013

    政府增拨二亿元予基金。

    浏览 2012
  • 2012

    委托香港城市大学及香港理工大学(理大)为基金进行成效评估。研究结果肯定了基金在香港推动发展社会资本的成效。理大的报告亦显示,基金成功加强了不同社会背景居民的互信和接纳,建立起邻里支援网络等。

    浏览 2011
  • 2011

    为增强社区抵御危机的能力,基金以“建设安善社区”为拨款申请主题,鼓励不同社区推行“楼长”策略,训练街坊成为楼长,发挥邻舍互助精神。

    浏览 2009
  • 2009

    在金融海啸的冲击下,基金连续两期拨款申请均以“逆境互助自强”为题,动员社会各界参与发挥互助互惠精神。

    浏览 2008
  • 2008

    因应天水围连串家庭悲剧,基金一次过资助该区13个社会资本发展计划,是历年来单一地区获批计划数目之冠。

    浏览 2006
  • 2006

    由五间大专院校组成的联校研究队伍,就50多个基金资助计划进行全面评估,肯定基金资助计划能有效提升个人能力,推动社群结网,促进跨界别合作等。

    浏览 2003
  • 2003

    严重急性呼吸系统综合症(“沙士”)肆虐,人心惶惶。基金拨款资助首批计划提倡社区团结及邻里互助等社会资本精神。

    浏览 2001
  • 2001

    政府宣布拨款三亿元,于2002年成立社区投资共享基金

    返回现在 CIIF
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Valid HTML 4.01 Strict 无障碍网页嘉许计划金奖