Mr Yapp Hung Fai

Mr Yapp Hung Fai

Professional footballer

Cross-generation mentorship

I am used to getting along with teammates and coaches at different ages because I have received football training since I was a child. I remember that when I was 14, I, being the goalkeeper, caused my team to lose one score by mistake in a friendly football match. I could not help but cry for my unacceptable underperformance after the match. It was fortunate that the well-experienced coach came to comfort me, reviewing the reasons why we lost. I felt much better after chatting with him.

Being a professional footballer, I often live with teammates who are older than me, from whom I have learnt a lot. Their positive thinking has affected me, making me more mature. Goalkeeper is the last defence for a team to win or lose. People always wonder, “How could you miss this ball?” Despite such high pressure, I always believe that the most important thing we should do is to play well our own parts, fully cooperate with teammates and focus on matches. There is no need to think too much.

To those youths who may not be able to solve problems by themselves, support from their seniors or friends are very important. Choose your friends carefully; don’t be afraid to make friends with seniors as they are mature and can give you advice from different perspectives. I feel fortunate that I always have companions who are as much my friends as teachers.

Please click here to download newsletter issue 25 for more sharing.

Close the window

葉鴻輝先生

葉鴻輝先生

職業足球員

亦師亦友跨代情

我自小接受足球培訓,習慣了跟不同年齡的隊員和教練相處。還記得14歲那年,我在一場足球友誼賽中犯錯,因守龍門時失手導致球隊失分。賽後,自己也接受不了大失水準的表現,忍不住哭了起來。幸好有經驗豐富的教練在旁跟我檢討失敗原因、和我傾偈解心結,令我的心情紓緩了不少。

作為職業球員,我經常與比我年紀大的隊員一起生活。跟隨一班大師兄學習,令我學懂了很多。他們正面積極的思想也影響著我,令我變得更成熟。作為把守最後一道防線、主宰球隊勝負的守門員,經常被人問起 ︰「為什麼你連這球也救不到﹖」,壓力當然不少。不過,我永遠相信,最重要是做好自己本份,跟隊員好好合作,將全副精神集中在比賽上,其他的事情不用多想。

青少年未必懂得獨自面對困難,所以,長輩或朋友的支持很重要。要好好選擇朋友,不用害怕跟年長人士交朋友,他們思想成熟,能夠給予你不同角度的意見。我很慶幸身邊總有亦師亦友的伙伴。

歡迎按此下載第二十五期基金雙季刊,瀏覽其他嘉賓對人情味的體會。

關閉此頁